UNIVERSITY OF PITTSBURGH POLICY 01-03-07

CATEGORY: ADMINISTRATION
SECTION: University Governance
SUBJECT: University Senate
EFFECTIVE DATE: July 25, 2002 Revised

PAGE(S): 2

I. SCOPE

This policy establishes the membership and responsibilities of the University Senate, which serves as one of the principal mechanisms for faculty participation in University governance.

II. POLICY

Membership of the Senate consists of:

- the Chancellor of the University;
- all persons who hold full-time academic appointments at the University of Pittsburgh with the titles of lecturer, senior lecturer, instructor, assistant professor, associate professor, and professor;
- all part-time tenured faculty;
- all persons who hold full-time appointments at the University of Pittsburgh as faculty librarians;
- student and staff members of Senate Council and of Senate Standing Committees;
- the Chancellor's 12 administrative appointees;
- the Deans; and
- other part-time untenured faculty and retired faculty and librarians who meet certain requirements as described in the Senate Bylaws.

The Senate has three elected officers: President, Vice President, and Secretary. Each officer's term is one-year. An officer can serve no more than three consecutive terms. These officers, together with the immediate Past-president and the Director of the Senate Office, form the Executive Committee, and are responsible for supervising the affairs of the Senate.

The University Senate is required to hold at least one plenary session during the Fall or Spring term.

The Senate takes action through its standing committees, the Faculty Assembly, and the Senate Council.

- The Faculty Assembly is a forum of elected representatives from across the University's several schools, divisions and campuses. It includes members of the Senate Executive Committee and the Chairpersons of the 15 standing committees. Discussion of any matters of faculty concern can lead to expression of a faculty position on the matter.
- The Senate Council is composed of two-thirds of the members elected to Faculty Assembly, members of the Senate Executive Committee, the Chancellor, administrative appointees designated by the Chancellor, three staff members, and students representing various graduate and undergraduate constituencies within the University.
- Both the Faculty Assembly and Senate Council meet at regularly stated times that are published in the University calendar. Meetings of both, as well as meetings of the

Senate Standing Committees, are normally open to members of the University community as observers without a vote.

The principal work of the Senate is carried out by the following 15 Standing Committees:

- Admissions and Student Aid
- Anti-discriminatory Policies
- Athletics
- Benefits and Welfare
- Budget Policies
- Bylaws and Procedures
- Commonwealth Relations
- Community Relations
- Computer Usage
- Educational Policies
- Library
- Plant Utilization and Planning
- Student Affairs
- Tenure and Academic Freedom
- University Press

Special committees may be created for a specific purpose and duration by the Executive Committee, Senate Council, or Faculty Assembly as each body deems appropriate.

The University Senate, through its standing committees, Executive Committee, Faculty Assembly, Senate Council, and through voting memberships in the University Planning and Budgeting Committee, provides advice to and consults with the Chancellor or other appropriate University officers.

The University Senate Bylaws and further information on the Senate is available from the Office of the University Senate, 1234 Cathedral of Learning, (412) 624-6505 or online at www.pitt.edu/univsenate.